Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien details new solo album, will release single this week

Collaborators include Colin Greenwood, Laura Marling, Adrian Utley and more.

Image: Andrew Benge / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien has shared details of his forthcoming solo album and announced that he will be releasing a new single, Brasil, later this week. 

In a picture of a handwritten Christmas card posted to Instagram, the guitarist revealed that Brasil will be released 5 December. The track previews his debut solo album under the moniker EOB, and is the follow-up to Santa Teresa, the song he released in October. The post also revealed that another single will arrive in early 2020, with the as-yet-untitled album following soon after. 

In the note, O’Brien also detailed the album’s origins: “The story starts post the King Of Limbs tour in 2012 when me and my family moved out to Brasil [sic]. We had a truly profound experience living in that extraordinary country.”

“As our time out there came to an end, we headed home and I found myself intuitively heading for the Welsh hills,” O’Brien added. “With a copy of Walt Whitman’s Leaves Of Grass, a couple of guitars, an amp and some pedals (of course), I rented a cottage in the Cambrian Mountains and the songs that make up the album started to flow out.”

The guitarist closed the note with a promise to “tour this record properly”.“So we’ll be out there in 2020 and hope to see you at some of the shows,” he added. Read the post in its entirety below:

O’Brien started recording his solo album in the fall of 2017 and finished it earlier this year, he explained in the note. The album was produced by Flood and mixed by Alan Moulder. Others who worked on the record include Catherine Marks, Cecil Bartlett and “some of Willesden’s finest sound engineers,” he wrote. 

Collaborators on the album also include fellow Radiohead member Colin Greenwood, Laura Marling, Portishead’s Adrian Utley, Wilco’s Glenn Kotche, David Okumu, Nathan East and Omar Hakim, O’Brien revealed.

For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.