SXSW Online 2021 announces globe-spanning virtual line-up, featuring The Chats, Iceage

Livestream performances will be held at “unique venues” in each artist’s home countries.

A Place To Bury Strangers onstage

Photo: Wenn Rights Ltd / Alamy

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

The line-up for this year’s virtual edition of SXSW has been officially announced and will feature performances from a globe-spanning array of artists.

SXSW Online 2021 will take place next week, from 16 to 20 March. Artists set to perform include Australian garage-rockers The Chats, Danish post-punk outfit Iceage, New York experimental rock band A Place To Bury Strangers, Japanese punk band Otoboke Beaver, Canadian electronica group Holy Fuck and English indie-rockers Sorry.

See the full list of performers here.

The festival promises livestreamed performances held at “unique venues” in each artist’s home country. These include a Buddhist temple in Taiwan, a cable car in Norway, a Los Angeles freeway overpass and London’s Abbey Road Studios.

Each showcase will run from 30 to 60 minutes and will be repeated in a 12-hour cycle.

A few artists will also be performing their sets in VR environments through SXSW Online XR, which reproduces actual locations in Austin, Texas – such as the Red River Cultural District and Paramount Theatre – in VR.

Tickets to attend SXSW Online 2021 are available now at $325 apiece. Each online pass also grants access to other areas of the festival, including the film and tech portions.

Learn more about SXSX Online 2021 here.

For more event news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.