Balaguer Guitars updates the Hyperion Standard and adds new Hyperion T Standard to its line-up

These new offsets have modern specs and playability.

balaguer guitars Hyperion T Standard

The Hyperion T Standard

Balaguer Guitars has refreshed its Hyperior Standard for 2019 and introduced a new guitar – the Hyperion T Standard – to its roster. The Standard is a two-humbucker axe while the T Standard has a single-coil and a humbucker.

Both offset-bodied guitars now sport a more sculpted heel and cutaway for better ergonomics, a thicker body and a reverse inline headstock that the brand claims improves string tension. Otherwise, the specs remain similar: both models have mahogany bodies and necks, set-neck construction, flat 16-inch-radius ebony fretboards, 22 frets, a 25.5-inch scale length, Graph Tech nuts, and pearloid block fingerboard inlays.

Here are more details for each model:

Hyperion Standard

balaguer guitars Hyperion Standard

By far the more aggressive of the duo, the Standard has a Feral and Evergreen humbucker at the bridge and neck, respectively. The former is a hot pickup with a 12.5K output, while the latter clocks in at 7.9K. Both use alnico V magnets, and can be coil-split via a push/pull tone knob. Hardware-wise, the Standard has a tune-o-matic bridge with a stop tailpiece.

The Standard is available in Gloss White and retails for $849.

Hyperion T Standard

balaguer guitars Hyperion T Standard

Its bridge single-coil betrays this guitar’s Tele inspirations – it’s an Austral alnico IV pickup with a 7.3K output. The neck pickup is the same Evergreen humbucker found in the Standard; this can also be split via the tone knob. The other significant difference between the two guitars is the T Standard’s Wilkinson WTB bridge with brass compensated saddles.

The T Standard is available in Gloss Metallic Crushed Blue and retails for $799.

Listen to a quick demo of the guitars here:

For more info, visit


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.