Fishman launches the Fluence Javier Reyes Signature 6-,7-, and 8-String Pickup Sets

The Animals as Leaders guitarist has tuned the pickups for dynamic range and clarity.

Fishman Fluente Javier Reyes

Images: Fishman

Fishman has unveiled a set of signature pickups for Animals as LeadersJavier Reyes, available in 6-, 7- and 8-string versions.

Javier is known for his dynamic and technical playing style, showing a range of influence in his music – from prog metal to classical. His approach to the 8 string has meant that these pickups have a focus on dynamics, not just power, as Fishman explains: “Javier’s pickups are unique among other Fluence artist sets in that they reflect his desire for warmer passive tones, smooth musical top-end, and organic dynamics. And, like all Fishman Fluence pickups, the Javier Reyes signature set is Multi-Voice and free from the hum, noise and frustrating inductance issues that plague even the most coveted wire-wound pickups.”

The selectable voices on offer from the bridge set include Voice 1, a thicker tone with heavy low end, a barky low-midrange, and aggressive upper-midrange that offers enough impact while still retaining clarity. Voice 2 is voiced for lead tone, accentuating the treble and harmonics, while Voice 3 is a clear, open single-coil sound.

Voice 1 for the neck pickup in the set is a low-end-heavy tone that still retains a smooth top-end and separation, while Voice 2 is warmer, with a focus on the lows and low-mids, – taking on an almost hollow body jazz box character. Like the bridge, the third voice splits the pickup for a single-coiled tone.

Check out Reyes talking about the pickup set below:

Recently, Reyes’ bandmate Tosin Abasi announced he would be selling 100 items of his personal gear through his own storefront.

Javier Reyes’ Signature Pickup (6, 7 and 8-string) Sets list for $350.58. Find out more over at


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.