JHS gets fuzztastic with three new pedals to its Legends of Fuzz lineup

The lineup also includes a Volture sag utility pedal which mimics the sound of a dying 9V battery.


Image: JHS

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

JHS is getting its fuzz on once more, adding three new affordable fuzz pedals to the Legends of Fuzz line-up.

These new pedals, the Berkeley (a ’73 Fress Fuzz Replica), Mary-K (a ’69 Fuzz Tone Replica) and Plugin (a ’67 Boss tone Replica), join the original four pedals that were released in 2020.

JHS is known for their experimental and characterful pedals, and these three new stomp boxes add affordability to vintage classics, allowing guitarists to bring the sound of the 60s and 70s, but without the price tag.

You can watch JHS’s deep dive into the pedals below:

Based on the ultra-rare Seamoon Inc. Fresh Fuzz from 1973, the Berkeley is JHS’ tribute to a single op-amp variant of the Fresh Fuzz, or “the rarer single op-amp 741 version,” according to JHS.

The Mary-K is JHS’ new take on the Kay Fuzz Tone, which was marketed in the late ’60s as a low-cost alternative to the Shin-Ei/Univox Superfuzz. Considering how expensive the Kay Fuzz Tone, this will be a nice low cost option.

Finally, the Plugin is an homage to the Jordan Electronics Boss Tone, a small effects box built to plug into a guitar’s output jack. JHS has taken this a step further and has put similar circuitry into a standard stompbox.

In addition to this, there is also a Volture sag utility pedal, which mimics the effect of a dying 9V battery on your fuzz, because quite frankly why not. Reverb.com has explained that some of the best guitarists used to use dying batteries in order to create the best fuzz.

All three pedals are retailing for $179, while the Volture sag utility pedal is selling for $80, and does require a standard 9V battery.

For more information, head to JHSPedals.info

Related Brands

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.