Guitar Rig 6 Pro to launch this October 2020

Introducing three new amplifiers, Intelligent Circuit Modeling and fresh new look.

Native Instruments Guitar Rig 6 Pro

Image: Native Instruments

Native Instruments has announced Guitar Rig 6 Pro, the long-awaited major update of the virtual guitar rig software, which introduces brand new amplifier emulations, effects, artist presets and a new Intelligent Circuit Modeling technology.

Guitar Rig 6 Pro debuts Intelligent Circuit Modeling, a technology which uses machine-learning to reproduce the nuances and behaviours of real hardware. NI says that its new tech will provide “added depth and realism” to its guitar amp emulations.

Three new amps have been introduced in this version: the Chicago, based on a rare mid-50s combo; Bass Invader, modelled after vintage solid state bass amplifiers, and the Fire Breather, voiced after a Marshall-style high-gain amplifier.

Cabinet sounds also get improved with the addition of Matched Cabinet Pro, which employs impulse responses from OwnHammer and Sigma Audio.

Adding to all these is a smorgasbord of effects, which include the eclectic Crush Pack, featuring frequency shifters, bit crushers and more; Mod Pack, boasting a trio of classic modulation effects; three vintage compressors modelled after the classic rack models and loads more. Plus, the 54 original effects from previous editions of Guitar Rig are still fully accessible.

Guitar Rig 6 Pro’s interface gets a new and much cleaner look, with a scalable interface that makes operation much more intuitive. For a useable tones from the get go, there are also artist presets from the likes of Yvette Young, Pete Thorn and Butch Vig, with more promised to arrive in future updates.

Guitar Rig 6 Pro is scheduled to release 1 October 2020. The full version of the software is priced at $199/£179, while existing users can purchase an upgrade for $99/£89.

Learn more about Guitar Rig 6 Pro at

For more music news, click here


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.