Sterling By Music Man unveils 2021 lineup

Including a fully revamped Cutlass model.

Sterling by Music Man's 2021 Cutlass models

All images: Sterling by Music Man

Along with a new edition of the Mariposa, Sterling By Music Man has unveiled its lineup of models for 2021. Highlights of the announcement are as follows:

2021 Cutlass CT50

For 2021, the Cutlass CT50 now features a roasted maple neck and locking tuners, upgrades that still see the price of the model under $500. The guitar comes with a vintage-style tremolo and an oversized 4+2 headstock, offering straight string pull.  It’s also configurable with a SSS or HSS pickup arrangement, both with five-way switching.

The 2021 Cutlass CT50 comes in Toluca Lake Blue, Vintage Sunburst, Vintage Cream, Dropped Copper, Rose Gold, and Firemist Silver.

Priced at $499.99.

Jason Richardson 6 String

Sterling by Music Man's 2021 Jason Richardson models

Jason Richardson’s signature guitar, which was previously only available as a seven-string, is now open to the more traditional guitarist. The six-string model retains the contoured lower horn for easier fret access, dual humbucking pickups with coil-tap tone control, a roasted maple neck, and a poplar burl veneer top.

Priced at $1,199.99.

2021 JP150DSM

Sterling's 2021 John Petrucci signatures

This signature guitar for John Petrucci comes with an ebony fretboard, 24 stainless steel frets, and with a new eye-catching Blood Orange Burst finish. Electronics-wise, the guitar is loaded with a DiMarzio LiquiFire and a DiMarzio Crunch Lab, and also features a matte-black tremolo and deep lower cutaway for easy upper-fret access.

Priced at $849.99.

2021 Majesty MAJ200XQM

The 2021 version of John Petrucci’s Majesty signature now comes in a wavy Cerulean Paradise finish, and features an ebony fretboard, stainless steel frets, and a pair of DiMarzio LiquiFire and a DiMarzio Crunch Lab humbuckers. It’s available in both six- and seven-string configurations.

Priced at $1,399.99.

For more gear news, click here.


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.