Strandberg enters bass market with new Boden Bass Series

“More than just a bass version” of the brand’s six-, seven-, eight-string guitars.

Strandberg Boden Bass series

Five-string versions of the Boden Original (left) and Boden Prog (right)

Strandberg has stepped into the bass arena with its new Boden Bass Series. Although these instruments boast similar headless designs to their guitar counterparts, they have been specifically tailored to meet the needs of professional bassists.

The range spans two categories – Original and Prog – each of which features four- and five-string options. Here are the details:

Boden Original

Strandberg Boden Bass Original four-string
The four-string Boden Original

This model features a swamp ash body, an AAAA solid flame maple top, a roasted birdseye maple fretboard and a neck crafted from two tonewoods: roasted maple and walnut with 12-ply CF.

As for electronics, Strandberg has opted for two Nordstrand Zen Blade single-coils with hum-cancelling capabilities. These pups are designed to pick up on the bass’ “natural, organic and woody acoustic characteristics”, according to the brand. The bass also sports a Nordstrand three-band preamp.

Check out the four-string Boden Original in action below:

Retails at $3,095 (four-string) and $3,195 (five-string).

Boden Prog

Strandberg Boden Prog five-string
The five-string Boden Prog

The Prog category shares most tonewoods with the Original, but adds an ebony fretboard instead. Electronics on the Prog models consist of two Nordstrand Big Rig humbuckers, which are designed with offset pole pieces for a “big multidimensional sound,” according to the Swedish brand.

Like the Original models, the Prog bass also sports several EQ controls, but in the form of a Darkglass Tone Capsule three-band preamp instead.

Check out the five-string Boden Prog Bass in below:

Retails at $2,995 (four-string) and $3,095 (five-string).

More info at


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.