Lzzy Hale and Tal Wilkenfeld perform at She Rocks Awards 2020

The event pays tribute to women in the music industry.

Image: Scott Mitchell / Grettel Cortes Photography

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

Guitarist Lzzy Hale and bassist Tal Wilkenfeld performed at the eighth annual She Rocks Awards at the House of Blues Anaheim on 17 January. The event honoured women from various areas of the music and audio industry.

Hale performed I Get Off and I Miss The Misery from her band Halestorm’s self-titled debut album (2009) and 2012’s The Strange Case Of…, while Wilkenfeld played a selection of songs from her recent album Love Remains.

Both Hale and Wilkendfeld received awards for their contributions to the industry. The Halestorm frontwoman was presented with the Inspired Award and Wilkenfeld accepted the Vision Award. “Right now, we may be in a ‘male dominated industry’ because we’re outnumbered, but I’m pleased to see so many women choosing not to put up with being ‘male dominated’ in their personal or professional lives,” Wilkenfeld said during her acceptance speech.

Wilkenfield went on to commend She Rocks for their work in recognising female talent. “I hope you will continue to inspire women, men and the media at large until the question asked is no longer, ‘What’s it like being a chick in this business,’ but rather, ‘What’s it like being you in this business,’” she continued.

Other performances and honourees included Gloria Gaynor and Linda Perry, who both received the Legend Award and Powerhouse Award, respectively. Perry delivered a piano-based performance of Ben Jelen’s Not My Plan and an acoustic guitar rendition of Christina Aguilera’s Beautiful. Gaynor closed the night with her performance of Talkin’ ’Bout Jesus from her new album Testimony and her classic 1978 hit I Will Survive.

For more music news, click here.

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.