Melvins share new acoustic version of Pitfalls In Serving Warrants from Five Legged Dog

Their upcoming acoustic record is set to release in October.

Melvins have released the second single from their upcoming acoustic record, Five Legged Dog. The new acoustic track, Pitfalls In Serving Warrants, originally appeared on the band’s 1997 LP Honky.

The upcoming record Five Legged Dog features a 36-song tracklist, spanning the band’s career all the way from 1987’s Gluey Porch Treatments to 2017’s A Walk With Love And Death. The album also features acoustic versions of songs previously covered by the band, including Sway by the Rolling Stones, Charlie by Redd Kross, Everybody’s Talkin’ by Fred Neil and more.

Jeff Pinkus from the Butthole Surfers also guests on the record, providing vocals and banjo to the tracks Don’t Forget to Breathe and Everybody’s Talking.


Take a listen to the new acoustic version of Pitfalls In Serving Warrants below.

Five Legged Dog is available to pre-order now and will arrive in digital and double-CD editions first. Meanwhile, a four-LP vinyl release is slated for 28 January. Its full tracklist is below.

  1. Edgar The Elephant (A Walk With Love & Death)
  2. Up The Dumper (The Bootlicker)
  3. Hung Bunny/Roman Dog Bird (Lysol)
  4. Hooch (Houdini)
  5. Billy Fish (Nude With Boots)
  6. Shevil (Stoner Witch)
  7. Charlie (Redd Kross cover from “Escape From LA” single)
  8. A Growing Disgust (Freak Puke)
  9. Eye Flys/Woman (Gluey Porch Treatments – “Woman” is a Free cover)
  10. Pitfalls In Serving Warrants (Honky)
  11. Outside Chance (The Turtles cover from “Slithering Slaughter” single)
  12. Evil New War God (The Bride Screamed Murder)
  13. The Bloated Pope (Pigs of the Roman Empire)
  14. Bad Move (from Dale Crover’s solo album, The Fickle Finger of Fate)
  15. With Teeth (Lysol)
  16. Halo of Flies (Alice Cooper cover from Sieg Howdy!)
  17. Oven (Ozma)
  18. Sway (Rolling Stones cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)
  19. Anaconda (Bullhead)
  20. Lovely Butterfly (Honky)
  21. Boris (Bullhead)
  22. It’s Shoved (Bullhead)
  23. Honey Bucket (Houdini)
  24. We Are Doomed (The Bulls & The Bees)
  25. Flypaper (Brainiac cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)
  26. Let God Be Your Gardener (Ozma)
  27. At The Stake (Stoner Witch)
  28. Night Goat (Houdini)
  29. Queen (Stoner Witch)
  30. Everybody’s Talking (Fred Neil cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)
  31. Revolve (Stoner Witch)
  32. Suicide In Progress (Nude With Boots)
  33. Prig (The Bootlicker)
  34. The Bit (Stag)
  35. Civilized Worm ((A) Senile Animal)
  36. Don’t Forget to Breathe (Pinkus Abortion Technician)