Jay-Z, Kate Bush, Rage Against The Machine and more nominated for inclusion in the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame

The class of 2021 sports quite the eclectic shortlist.

Jay Z, Kate Bush and Tom Morello

Images: Brian Ach / Stuart Nicol / Catherine McGann / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

The nominees for the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame’s 2021 inductees have been announced. The eclectic mix, which you can see in full below, includes Tina Turner, Kate Bush, LL Cool J, and Foo Fighters.

Seven of the nominees for this year are getting their first nomination: Foo Fighters, JAY-Z, Iron Maiden, Fela Kuti, The Go-Go’s, Carole King and Dionne Warwick. Rage Against The Machine were nominated in 2019, but were not inducted.

The full 2021 shortlist is as follows: Tina Turner, Jay-Z, LL Cool J, Rage Against the Machine, Iron Maiden, Kate Bush, The Go-Go’s, Mary J. Blige, New York Dolls, Fela Kuti, Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Carole King, Devo, Dionne Warwick and Foo Fighters.

If Foo Fighters join the hall, it will mark the second time that Dave Grohl has been inducted, having previously entered as part of Nirvana. Similarly, Carole King was previously inducted as a songwriter, and Tina Turner was inducted alongside Ike Turner in 1991.

The entrants are decided in a combination of the Hall Of Fame’s voting body, comprised of over 1,000 artists, historians, and music industry members, and fan votes via the institution’s website.

Last year, the induction ceremony was delayed and eventually held virtually due to the pandemic.

This year, inductees will be honoured at an event towards the end of the year, held in Cleveland, Ohio.

You can add your vote here. For more music news, click here.

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.