AC/DC release new single Shot In The Dark

It’s their first new music since 2014.

Image: Jim Dyson / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

AC/DC, having recently announced the return of Brian Johnson, Phil Rudd and Cliff Willians, along with Angus Young and Stevie Young, have released the first single from their new record PWR UP, entitled Shot In The Dark. You can take a listen above.

The new album is also confirmed to feature ideas from the late rhythm guitarist Malcolm Young, who passed away in 2017. Speaking to AC/DCfans.net, longtime band engineer and producer Mike Fraser divulged that PWR UP will draw from a pool of demos written by Malcolm and Angus Young. “Angus came into this with a lot of ideas and riffs and not too many completed songs,” Fraser said. “But that was similar on Rock Or Bust, ’cause him and Malcolm had written tons of songs before Mal got sick and eventually passed away.”

He continued: “He’s got a whole treasure trove of ideas and riffs. He probably spent a few years before we came in to do this record pooling ideas together, and then when he came into the studio here, he just sat down with a whole suitcase full of little demo things he had done.”

PWR UP is the band’s 17th LP, and will arrive 13 November. Its full tracklist is below.

1. Realize
2. Rejection
3. Shot in the Dark
4. Through the Mists of Time
5. Kick You When You’re Down
6. Witch’s Spell
7. Demon Fire
8. Wild Reputation
9. No Man’s Land
10. Systems Down
11. Money Shot
12. Code Red

For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.