“I know Mal’s not with us anymore; he’s there with us in spirit”: Angus Young

The guitarist reflected on what his late brother, Malcolm Young, would have thought of PWR UP.

Angus Young and Malcolm Young

Photo: Martyn Goodacre / Getty Images

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

AC/DC’s latest album PWR UP is due to arrive 13 November, and ahead of release day, the band have been uploading behind-the-scenes videos on the creation of the long-awaited record.

In the latest video, guitarist Angus Young and singer Brian Johnson reflected on how their bandmate, the late Malcolm Young, might have thought of the album.

“I know Mal’s not with us anymore; he’s there with us in spirit,” Young said. “This band was his baby, his life. He was always one [who said] ‘You keep going.'”

“He would’ve been proud of this,” Johnson added.

PWR UP is set to be the band’s first album since the death of Malcolm Young in 2017, and according to Angus in an interview with USA Today, is a tribute to his brother’s rocking legacy. Elsewhere in the video, the guitarist remembered an oft-repeated motto of his brother’s.

“His big line, every now and again he’d go: ‘If you’re a musician, it’s a bit like being on the Titanic, the band goes down with the ship. That’s how he viewed it,” Angus said.

Although Malcolm Young’s guitar playing won’t feature on the album, longtime AC/DC engineer and producer Mike Fraser revealed that PWR UP will include song ideas conjured up by the legendary guitarist before his death.

“He probably spent a few years before we came in to do this record pooling ideas together,” Fraser recalled in an interview with ACDCFans.net. “Then when he came into the studio here, he just sat down with a whole suitcase full of little demo things he had done.”

Last week (6 October), the band have also released Shot In The Dark, the first single to PWR UP. The album will feature 12 tracks in total. See the full track listing below.

  1. Realize
  2. Rejection
  3. Shot in the Dark
  4. Through the Mists of Time
  5. Kick You When You’re Down
  6. Witch’s Spell
  7. Demon Fire
  8. Wild Reputation
  9. No Man’s Land
  10. Systems Down
  11. Money Shot
  12. Code Red

For more music news, click here

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.