Anna Calvi announces Hunted, a reimagining of her 2018 LP Hunter

The new album features collaborations with Courtney Barnett, Joe Talbot and more.

Anna Calvi

Image: Ollie Millington / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

Anna Calvi has announced a reworked version of her 2018 record Hunter, entitled Hunted. Upon Hunter’s release, it was critically acclaimed – and this new version aims to strip back those well-known songs to rawer versions.

The record also features collaborations with Julia Holter, Idles frontman Joe Talbot and Charlotte Gainsbourg.

Calvi said in a statement about the reworking and collaborations: “During a break from touring I went back and listened to the first recordings I ever made of ‘Hunter’. These recordings capture the very moment I first wrote these songs, and recorded them on my own, in my attic studio. I find something especially intimate about sharing these most private recordings with my favourite singers and asking them to lend their voices and artistic sensibility. Courtney Barnett is an amazing artist. Her voice and guitar playing together are mind-blowing. Her ability to connect the profound to the smallest moments of human experience is the unique talent of a true artist.”

Courtney Barnett also said about working with Calvi: “Anna is a completely awe-inspiring performer, it’s impossible to take your eyes off her onstage. I love her songwriting for its beautiful and perfect balance between aggression and tenderness”.

The full tracklist for Hunted is below:

1. Swimming Pool (feat. Julia Holter)
2. Hunter
3. Eden (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg)
4. Away
5. Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy (feat. Courtney Barnett)
6. Wish (feat. Joe Talbot/IDLES)
7. Indies Or Paradise

Take a listen to the first single release from Hunted, Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy (feat. Courtney Barnett) below.

Hunted is released on 6 March. Find out more and preorder here. For more music news, click here.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.