Bruce Springsteen releases entire 2009 Hyde Park Concert for those socially distancing

The concert was previously only available on physical media.

As the world of live music grinds to a shuddering halt, musicians are finding more digital ways of satiating that itch for concerts. Bruce Springsteen has done his bit by releasing the entirety of his 2009 Hyde Park appearance with the E Street Band. Take a look at his performance of London Calling above.

In a tweet, Springsteen encouraged people to “Practice social distancing & stream London Calling: Live In Hyde Park from the comfort of your own home.”

The concert was initially released on DVD and Blu-Ray back in 2010. This marks its first digital release. As well as the above Clash cover, the set features classics such as Badlands, Night, The Promised Land and Born to Run.

While there was talk surrounding a new Springsteen and E-street Band record, and a tour to support – it’s now more likely that at least the tour won’t happen till much later in the year, or even 2021, given the current outbreak.

View the full concert on youtube as a playlist here. The performance is also available on all other major digital platforms.

For more music news, click here.

Keep up to date with the coronavirus-related cancellations and postponements here.


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.