Star-studded David Bowie tribute concert set to broadcast tonight

A number of musicians including are to pay tribute to David Bowie with a streamed concert today (8 January), on the fifth anniversary of his death and what would have been his 74th birthday.

Latest to be announced for the concert is a supergroup named Ground Control, featuring Slipknot’s Corey Taylor, Foo Fighters‘ Taylor Hawkins, Jane’s Addiction members Dave Navarro and Chris Chaney.

A Bowie Celebration: Just for One Day will also feature an appearance from Mike Garson, Bowie’s longtime pianist. Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails will also be joined by his How to Destroy Angels bandmates Mariqueen Maandig and Atticus Ross. Other musicians involved include The Pretty Reckless’ Taylor Momsen, Smashing Pumpkins‘ Billy Corgan, Halestorm’s Lzzy Hale, Def Leppard’s Joe Elliott, The Cult’s Ian Astbury, Jane’s Addiction’s Perry Farrell and his wife Etty Lau Farrell, Bush’s Gavin Rossdale, Living Colour’s Corey Glover, The Distillers’ Brody Dalle, Queen‘s Adam Lambert, Yungblud and more.

Advertisement

You can see a trailer for the concert below.

Tickets to watch the tribute are currently available for $25 here. The event begins at 9 PM ET / 6 PM PT on 8 January, or 2 AM GMT on 9 January.

For more music news, click here.

Advertisement

Trending

Advertisement