Hear David Ellefson’s first post-Megadeth music from new band The Lucid

The Lucid’s self-titled debut album arrives next month.

Bassist David Ellefson has released his first new music since being ejected from Megadeth earlier this year. The track is the first release from his new band The Lucid, formed alongside vocalist Vinnie Dombroski of Sponge, guitarist Drew Fortier and drummer Mike Heller of Raven and Fear Factory.

The track is certainly not thrash metal, but instead is closer to heavy grunge or alternative metal. Ellefson described the band’s sonic approach to The Chuck Schute Podcast last year: “It’s cool stuff, and it’s very different. It’s, obviously, not thrash metal, hence the name Lucid. It kind of feels like what the music sounds like.”

Ellefson’s former band Megadeth are currently working on their 16th LP, The Sick, The Dying And The Dead. Its release date has not been released yet. While Ellefson recorded parts for the record, they have since been replaced following his firing.


The new song, Maggot Wind, is taken from The Lucid’s self-titled debut album, which is set to arrive on 12 October. You can hear the new track below.

The tracklisting for The Lucid’s self-titled debut is below.

  1. Maggot Wind
  2. Deaths of Despair
  3. Spoiler Head
  4. Hair
  5. Maskronaut
  6. Damned
  7. Breech Boy
  8. Pigs And Sons
  9. Parade Of Spit