Listen to Greg Puciato’s heavy new song, Do You Need Me To Remind You?

The ex-Dillenger Escape Plan frontman gets sludgier than ever.

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Ex-Dillinger Escape Plan frontman Greg Puciatio has released the latest single from his upcoming record Child Soldier: Creator of God, entitled Do You Need Me To Remind You?. Take a look at the accompanying music video above.

The song marks a move towards sludge metal for Puciato, compared to Dillinger Escape Plan’s metalcore approach. The Dillinger Escape plan broke up in 2017, after forming in 1997.

For the new record, Puciato played every instrument except drums. He explained about the origin of the LP: “I’d been writing for so many different projects, Dillinger, then The Black Queen, and Killer Be Killed…and I just kept on writing, It felt as if I had more to say, but nothing that necessarily filled the script of those bands, so I ended up with something that I found to be intensely personal and super satisfying, but also confusing as far as what to do with it. When I realized that it was a solo release, it was sort of an ‘oh that’s interesting’ moment, both terrifying and exciting at once, and challenging, and new, and that combo is almost always a good sign, so I committed to it.

“It’s important to continue taking risks in order to grow both your creativity and your future possibilities, to create new avenues and freedoms for yourself, and it also felt like a good time for me to integrate and own everything that I am into one thing, without fragmentation or limitation. I needed to come out from telling myself that I always have to be ‘guy in a band,’ and to release this as my own name.”

Child Soldier: Creator of God arrives on 23 October, and can be preordered over at Puciato’s Bandcamp. The full tracklist is below:

  1. Heavy of Stone
  2. Creator of God
  3. Fire for Water
  4. Deep Set
  5. Temporary Object
  6. Fireflies
  7. Do You Need Me To Remind You?
  8. Roach Hiss
  9. Down When I’m Not
  10. You Know I Do
  11. Through The Walls
  12. A Pair of Questions
  13. Evacuation
  14. Heartfree
  15. September City

For more music news, click here.

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.