Alter Bridge, the Distillers, Mastodon and many more announced for Download UK 2020

40 bands in total have been added to the bill.

Images: Katja Ogrin / Simone Joyner /
Miikka Skaffari / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

The UK’s Download Festival has announced 40 new bands for its lineup. The festival will take place between Friday 12 June and Sunday 14 June.

The additions include Alter Bridge, Mastodon, the Distillers, Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, Motionless in white, The Darkness, Sepultura and many more. These acts join headliners Kiss, Iron Maiden and System of a Down.

Speaking to Download, many of the bands announced expressed excitement at joining the legendary festival’s ranks, with Darkness Frontman Justin Hawkins saying: “UK festival appearances are like children – so precious and impossible to pick a favourite. This year though, my number 1 child is our Download slot! I have a pair of pyjama bottoms designed to look like jeans with tickets for Monsters of Rock 1991 hanging out of the pocket, and that tells you everything you need to know about my excitement levels.”

This sentiment was echoed by Sepultura’s Derrick Green: “We are ecstatic about our return to Download Festival. It’s an honour and pleasure to be a part of a festival with such a rich music history. We look forward to rocking out with you all!”

The Distillers have also announced a European tour alongside their addition to the download lineup.

Check out our gallery of highlights from Download 2019, including Slipknot, Slash and recent Grammy winners Tool.

Find out more and view the full list of additions at downloadfestival.co.uk. For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.