Here’s the first look at the new Mötley Crüe lineup, featuring John 5

The former Rob Zombie guitarist has also shown off the guitars he will be using for the band’s upcoming live performances.

Ross Halfin Photographs Motley Crue new lineup in 2023

Image: Ross Halfin

Mötley Crüe have taken to social media to share the first official photograph of their new lineup – featuring John 5 as the replacement for original guitarist, Mick Mars.

The image was posted to Instagram by the band’s bassist Nikki Sixx on Saturday (4 February) – providing fans with a glimpse at the newly-assembled Mötley Crüe lineup.

“Ready to hit the road… The World Tour 2023,” the caption read, also tagging the members and giving credit to their photographer, Ross Halfin.

This is the first time that the band have been photographed together with John 5 as the new member.

The former Rob Zombie guitarist was enlisted as the replacement for Mick Mars, following his departure from the band last year.

Mars, who co-founded the band in 1981, announced that he would be retiring from touring in October, following numerous health reasons. Suffering from degenerative disease Ankylosing Spondylitis for many years, the seventy-one-year-old is still regarded as a member of Mötley Crüe, but simply no longer performing with the band.

Following the announcement, John 5 made an official statement, confirming that he was “honoured to carry on Mick’s legacy” and would be joining the band for their upcoming worldwide tour.

The stint of live performances will kick off this Friday (10 February) in New Jersey, find a full list of dates on the band’s website.

Last week (31 January), the guitarist also took to social media to showcase the gear he will be taking with him for the live shows.

For the most part, the rig consisted of various Floyd Rose-equipped Telecasters – often seen in his weekly Mötley Crüe covers – and a range of Boss pedals and Marshall cabinets.

Find the full list of gear mentioned in the video below.


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.