Fleet Foxes release surprise fourth album Shore

The album was released 22 September to coincide with the autumnal equinox.

Robin Pecknold onstage

Image: Douglas Mason / Wire Image

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

Fleet Foxes surprised fans yesterday (22 September) with the release of their fourth album, Shore. The release was planned to coincide with the autumnal equinox. Take a listen to the album in its entirety below.

Tied to the release was an accompanying film, also titled Shore directed by Los Angeles-based filmmaker Kersti Jan Werdal. The film – shot on 16mm film – was shot throughout Washington, Oregon and Idaho.

“I listened to the album while driving, and observationally shot landscapes that I felt resonated with the music, yet also stood on their own,” Werdal explained in a statement. Watch Shore below.

Fleet Foxes frontman Robin Pecknold began making Shore back in 2018; Pecknold recorded in Manhattan, Long Island City, Paris, Los Angeles, and at the National’s Long Pond Studio in Hudson Valley, New York.

In a lengthy artist statement, Pecknold cited Nina Simone, João Gilberto, Sam Cooke, cellist Arthur Russell, and many others as inspirations to the record.

“I wanted to make an album that celebrated life in the face of death,” he said. “Honouring our lost musical heroes explicitly in the lyrics and carrying them with me musically, committing to living fully and vibrantly in a way they no longer can, in a way they maybe couldn’t even when they were with us, despite the joy they brought to so many.”

With COVID-19 putting a halt on touring in 2020, Pecknold said that he plans to focus his attention on making more music. Elsewhere in his statement, he divulged that Fleet Foxes plan to have more music ready in the following year.

“For 2021, we hope to have nine more songs ready, to augment the fifteen here,” he said. “Those songs will be co-written from the ground up with Morgan Henderson, Skyler Skjelset, Casey Wescott, and Christian Wargo”.

“In an attempt to make good use of this liminal time without extensive touring to be done. I’m incredibly excited to see where those songs end up and I hope that by the time they are done we will be able to bring all of this music to crowds around the world in some form or another.”

In addition to digital releases, Shore is also available now on CD and Vinyl formats. See them here.

The full track listing for Shore:

  1. Wading in Waist-High Water
  2. Sunblind
  3. Can I Believe You
  4. Jara
  5. Featherweight
  6. A Long Way Past the Past
  7. For a Week or Two
  8. Maestranza
  9. Young Man’s Game
  10. I’m Not My Season
  11. Quiet Air / Gioia
  12. Going-to-the-Sun Road
  13. Thymia
  14. Cradling Mother, Cradling Woman
  15. Shore

For more music news, click here

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.