King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard to reissue “eco-wax” vinyl editions of 10 releases

The eco-friendly releases are part of the worldwide #LOVERECORDSTORES campaign.

stu mackenzie onstage

Photo: Mariano Regidor / Redferns

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

As part of the worldwide #LOVERECORDSTORES campaign, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard will be repressing 10 of their releases onto “eco-wax” vinyl – released through Heavenly Records, and available on 20 June.

These reissues – consisting of nine LPs and one EP – are being called the ‘Rancid Rainwater’ Eco Wax Editions. “Eco-wax” is said to be made from “randomly leftover pellets”, which gives the vinyl its “murky pond water” look – hence the name of the series.

Additionally, each record’s sleeve was produced using recycled board and printed with plant-based inks. Industry-standard shrink wrapping was replaced by recycled brown paper bags and the promotional stickers – usually included with each record – have been combined into a single paper sticker.

Finally, releases in the Rancid Rainwater series will be carbon offset – in order to “cover the record’s journey through production to your local record shop”. See what the releases look like in this Facebook post from Heavenly Recordings.

💿❤️ Here at Heavenly we are pleased to announce releases from King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Unloved, Cherry Ghost…

Posted by HEAVENLY RECORDINGS on Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Stu Mackenzie of King Gizzard issued a statement on the band’s new eco-friendly records, noting that “the irony of making music that will be pressed on a giant plastic disc” was not lost on him.

“In 2020, plastic is in our oceans, it’s in our soils, it’s in our bodies,” he said. “It is a privilege and a responsibility to own this record or any other. Be thoughtful and be kind to Mother Nature. We need her.”

Below are the releases within the Rancid Rainwater series:

Head On/Pill 12” (2013)
I’m In Your Mind Fuzz (2014)
Quarters (2015)
Paper Mache Dream Balloon (2015)
Nonagon Infinity (2016)
Flying Microtonal Banana (2017)
Murder Of The Universe (2017)
Sketches Of Brunswick East (2017)
Polygondwanaland (2017)
Gumboot Soup (2017)

Learn more at heavenlyrecordings.com

For more music news, click here.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.