Liquid Tension Experiment announce first record since 1999

The prog supergroup returns.

Liquid Tension Experiment

Image: Tony Levin

Liquid Tension Experiment have announced LTE3, the band’s first album in 22 years.

The band, formed of past and present Dream Theater members John Petrucci, Mike Portnoy and Jordan Rudess, as well as Chapman Stick player Tony Levin, released their self-titled debut in 1998 and its sequel in 1999. The band went on hiatus in 1999 when keyboardist Jordan Rudess joined Dream Theater.

John Petrucci said of the recording of the new album: “After over 20 years since the last time we recorded together, the four of us stepped into the studio and it was as if no time had passed at all! All of the magic that made the first two LTE albums so special was still there and we had such a great time making this record. I’m extremely proud of what we created together and can’t wait for everyone to hear it!”

Drummer Mike Portnoy added: “The best thing to come out of 2020 was this long-awaited reunion! And it was surely worth the wait as after all these years, the magic chemistry was still there and stronger than ever!”

Portnoy played on John Petrucci’s latest solo album, Terminal Velocity – which was the pair’s first time playing together since Dream Theater’s Black Clouds & Silver Linings in 2009.

LTE3 will be released on 26 March through InsideOut Music. Take a look at the teaser for the LP below:

For more music news, click here.


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.