Listen to the new Mastodon song, Fallen Torches

The song was announced yesterday.

Brent Hinds of Mastodon

Image: Ethan Miller / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

Mastodon have released a new song, entitled Fallen Torches. The song, which was first teased yesterday with a post on the band’s website, can be listened to below.

Fallen Torches also features the vocals of frequent Mastodon collaborator, Scott Kelly – frontman for progressive sludge outfit Neurosis.

It comes from an upcoming compilation record, also announced today, entitled Medium Rarities. This features a number of unheard tracks, including Feist, Flaming Lips and Metallica songs – and the music the band recorded for Game Of Thrones.

The band said of Fallen Torches: “This classic Mastodon track was recorded in Atlanta in 2019, originally planned to be released in support of a European tour.

“The track was delayed so the band could focus on the release of ‘Stairway to Nick John’, a tribute to [Mastodon’s] late, long time manager Nick John, with proceeds going to the Hirshberg Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research in his honour.”

The full tracklist for Medium Rarities is below.

  1. Fallen Torches
  2. A Commotion
  3. Asleep in the Deep (Instrumental)
  4. Capillarian Crest (Live)
  5. A Spoonful Weighs a Ton
  6. Toe to Toes (Instrumental)
  7. Circle of Cysquatch (Live)
  8. Atlanta (Ft. Gibby Haynes)
  9. Jaguar God (Instrumental)
  10. Cut You Up With a Linoluem Knife
  11. Blood & Thunder (Live)
  12. White Walker
  13. Halloween (Instrumental)
  14. Crystal Skull (Live)
  15. Orion
  16. Iron Tusk (Live)

For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.