Listen: Wolfgang Van Halen drops new Mammoth WVH track, Mammoth

The project’s self-titled debut record arrives on 11 June.

Wolfgang Van Halen

Image: Kevin Mazur / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Wolfgang Van Halen’s solo band Mammoth WVH have released a new single, entitled Mammoth. The song is the sixth to be released ahead of the project’s self-titled record.

The track has arrived alongside an official lyric video, which you can see below.

Other tracks so far are Distance, You’re To Blame, Don’t Back Down, Think It Over and Feel. Distance, the first single to be released, is a tribute to Wolfgang’s father Eddie Van Halen.

Wolfgang explained in a statement at the time of its release: “Distance is a song that was initially written for the debut album, but was going to be held for a later time. I never anticipated Distance would be the first song of mine that people would hear, but I also thought my father would be here to celebrate its release along with me. This is for him.”

He added: “As my pop continued to struggle with various health issues, I was imagining what my life would be like without him and how terribly I’d miss him,” he said. “While this song is incredibly personal, I think anyone can relate to the idea of having a profound loss in their own life.”

Wolfgang has previously opened up about fan expectation and how it relates to his own solo material, taking to Instagram to say: “I’m not trying to be my father; I’m trying to be me. Being who I am, I think people at least will be interested in what my work will sound like, which is nice. But on the other hand, if it’s not exactly what they want to hear or if I don’t sound ‘Van Halen-y’ enough for them they’ll hate me and won’t give me the time of day.”

Mammoth WVH will drop on 11 June, and can be preordered now. Its tracklist is below.

  1. Mr. Ed
  2. Horribly Right
  3. Epiphany
  4. Don’t Back Down
  5. Resolve
  6. You’ll Be the One
  7. Mammoth
  8. Circles
  9. The Big Picture
  10. Think It Over
  11. You’re to Blame
  12. Feel
  13. Stone
  14. Distance

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.