Watch: Metallica performs half-acoustic, half-electric livestream gig for charity

The gig raised money for their All Within My Hands foundation.

Photo: Sergione Infuso / Corbis via Getty Images

Metallica took to the virtual stage on Saturday (14 November) to perform in support of their charitable All Within My Hands foundation. The Helping Hands concert was split between both plugged and unplugged performances.

The show comprised an eight-song acoustic set (previewed above), as well as a six-song electric one (previewed below). Among acoustic renditions of Blackened and Now That We’re Dead were also covers of Deep Purple’s When A Blind Man Cries and The Animals’ The House Of The Rising Sun.

100 per cent of funds raised by the gig was pledged to the All Within My Hands foundation, which supports several organisations, including Feeding America, Direct Relief, Live Nation’s Crew Nation, the Bartender Emergency Assistance Program, and MusiCare’s COVID-19 relief fund.

During the show, frontman James Hetfield expressed his gratitude to fans who attended, saying, “We’re super grateful to be a part of this and glad you’re here to witness it and be part of it as well.”

“All your help is very much appreciated. And the fact that we get to play is a big bonus, right? We get to play, we get to employ some people here, we get to help out. It’s a win-win-win everywhere.”

Meanwhile, tickets (for replays of the show) and exclusive merch are still available to purchase via the event’s page.

Take a look at what Metallica played at the show below:

Acoustic set:

  1. Blackened
  2. Creeping Death
  3. When A Blind Man Cries (Deep Purple cover)
  4. The Unforgiven
  5. Now That We’re Dead
  6. Turn The Page (Bob Seger cover)
  7. Nothing Else Matters
  8. All Within My Hands

Electric set:

  1. Disposable Heroes
  2. House Of The Rising Sun (The Animals cover)
  3. Wasting My Hate
  4. For Whom The Bell Tolls
  5. Master Of Puppets
  6. Enter Sandman

For more music news, click here


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.