Modest Mouse announce first record in six years, The Golden Casket – hear first single We Are Between

The album will arrive in June.

Modest Mouse

Image: Tim Mosenfelder / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Indie rock band Modest Mouse have announced that their seventh full-length LP, The Golden Casket, will arrive in June. Alongside the album announcement, the band has launched the first single, We Are Between.

The album was produced by Dave Sardy and Jacknife Lee in both Los Angeles and Modest Mouse’s Portland studio. The band described The Golden Casket as reflecting “the liminal space between raw punk power and experimental studio science,” in a statement.

“The twelve tracks behave like amorphous organisms, undergoing dramatic mutations and mood swings that speak to the chronic tug-of-war between hope and despair that plays out in frontman [Isaac] Brocks head,” the release continues.

Modest Mouse’s last full-length LP, Strangers To Ourselves, was released in 2015. This itself followed a similarly-long break between LPs, with their previous being 2007’s We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank.

Hear We Are Between below, and see The Golden Casket’s full tracklisting below that.

  1. Fuck Your Acid Trip
  2. We Are Between
  3. Were Lucky
  4. Walking and Running
  5. Wooden Soldiers
  6. Transmitting Receiving
  7. The Sun Hasn’t Left
  8. Lace Your Shoes
  9. Never Fuck A Spider On The Fly
  10. Leave A Light On
  11. Japanese Trees
  12. Back To The Middle

The Golden Casket will arrive on 25 June, and can be preordered here.

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.