Mikkey Dee and Phil Campbell are now mentioned in Motörhead’s Rock & Roll Hall of Fame nomination

The nomination previously only mentioned the original lineup.


Image: Fin Costello / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Motörhead’s nomination for a 2020 introduction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has been amended, and now includes drummer Mikkey Dee and guitarist Phil Campbell.

The nomination initially only mentioned Lemmy, ‘Fast’ Eddie Clarke, and Phil ‘Philthy Animal’ Taylor – the lineup of the band from 1976 to 1982. Eddie Clarke would leave the band in 1982, and Phil Taylor would leave in 1984, before returning for a five-year stint in 1987.

Mikkey dee had expressed disappointment in the nomination – speaking to Billboard, the drummer said that it was “pure wrong” that he and Campbell hadn’t been mentioned after playing in the band for 23 and 31 years respectively.

After the change, the band’s twitter thanked the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and those who spoke up for getting Phil and Mikkey added to the nomination.

The amendment was not accompanied by an announcement from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, but the band’s listing has been updated on its website.

The full list of artists was announced earlier this month, and also included T. Rex, Thin Lizzy, Pat Benatar, Dave Matthews Band, The Doobie Brothers, The Notorious B.I.G., and Whitney Houston.

For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.