Mr. Bungle announce The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo, their first album in 21 years

A re-recording of the 1986 demo, The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny.

Mr Bungle

Photo: Mr. Bungle via Facebook

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Mr. Bungle have announced The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny Demo, the avant-rockers first studio album in 21 years. Due out 30 October, the record is an official re-recording of the band’s first demo The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny from 1986.

A first taste of the album was supplied along with the announcement, take a listen to the 2020 version of Raping Your Mind below.

Deciding that the “pull of returning to full-on metal was too strong to avoid”, the forces of Mike Patton, Trey Spruance and Trevor Dunn reassembled to give their early demo the “much-needed presentation and precision it deserved”.

Given the trashy metal nature of the demo, the Mr. Bungle core members decided to enlist help directly from the “Big Four”, and were joined by Anthrax guitarist Scott Ian and Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo. The album was recorded over a period of 10 days, sometime before COVID-19 reached pandemic status.

Said Trevor Dunn on putting together their latest studio album: “Recording this record felt like we were finally utilising our PhDs in Thrash Metal. All we had to do was go back to our original professors [Scott Ian and Dave Lombardo] for some additional guidance and talk them into joining us. Turns out we were A+ students.”

While the record will include the eight tracks found on the original 1986 demo, from Grizzly Adam to Sudden Death, it also presents some new songs that weren’t fleshed out at the time for release.

“We even went for extra credit by revisiting some tunes that we’d given up on back in the day. It was less like a trip of nostalgia and more like the refining of an original, worthy document. We were haunted for 35 years by the fact that this music wasn’t given it’s due respect. Now we can die.”

One of the new songs, Anarchy Up Your Anus is said to feature actress Rhea Perlman, best known for playing Carla Tortelli in the sitcom Cheers.

Pre-orders for The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo are being taken now, and the record will release 30 October in a number of digital and physical editions. See them all here.

The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo’s track listing:

1. Grizzly Adams
2. Anarchy Up Your Anus
3. Raping Your Mind
4. Hypocrites / Habla Español O Muere
5. Bungle Grind
6. Methematics
7. Eracist
8. Spreading The Thighs of Death
9. Loss For Words
10. Glutton For Punishment
11. Sudden Death

Learn more about The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo at ipecac.com 

For more guitar news, click here.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.