Watch Mr Bungle cover Van Halen’s Loss Of Control

Taken from the band’s The Night They Came Home virtual concert.

Mike Patton / Eddie Van Halen

Sergione Infuso / Tim Mosenfelder / Getty

Mr Bungle have released a new single, a cover of the Van Halen track Loss Of Control. The song is taken from their live-streamed Halloween performance The Night They Came Home.

The single arrives alongside footage of the live performance, taken from the upcoming release of the concert on Blu-Ray/CD, DVD/CD, digital and, of course, VHS. It will arrive on 11 June.

Mr Bungle reunited in 2020 for the release of The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny Demo, a rerecorded version of their first-ever demo, recorded in 1986. The Night They Came Home features performances of a number of tracks from that release, as well as a handful of other covers.

In a statement about the single release, guitarist Trey Spruance explained: “Mr Bungle tried to play this song in the ‘90s and we scrapped it because we sucked at it. I think it worked this time for a lot of reasons. My own is that, thanks to the new Raging Wrath era, I’ve had to re-approach the guitar like I did when I was 13 and 14. It was all about Eddie Van Halen for me back then, so circling back at this moment felt really natural. Those riffs and lead parts at least are super fun! I’m just glad Scott took the palm-mute breaks. Jesus!”

Scott Ian, also of Anthrax and S.O.D., “I generally don’t get nervous about learning someone else’s riffs. When it’s an EVH riff, it’s a whole different story! I was terrified! With Loss Of Control, I did my best to just hold on and go for the ride. What a riff!!! As a fan, I’d have to say it’s a perfect song for Mr Bungle to cover. I hope you enjoy listening as much as I did getting to play it.”

You can see the performance below, and the full tracklist for the concert’s release below that. The various formats can be preordered here.

1. Won’t You Be My Neighbor (Fred Rogers cover)
2. Anarchy Up Your Anus
3. Raping Your Mind
4. Bungle Grind
5. Methematics
6. Hell Awaits/Summer Breeze (Slayer/Seals and Croft medley/cover)
7. Eracist
8. World Up My Ass (Circle Jerks cover)
9. Glutton For Punishment
10. Hypocrites/Habla Español O Muere (S.O.D. cover)
11. Spreading The Thighs Of Death
12. Loss For Words
13. Sudden Death
14. Loss Of Control (Van Halen cover)


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.