Nick Lowe unveils new EP Lay It On Me

Along with the release of its first single, Lay It on Me Baby

Image: Christie Goodwin / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Nick Lowe has announced a new EP, Lay It On Me, and has released the first single from it, Lay It On Me Baby. Take a listen to the track below:

In a statement about the release, Nick Lowe described the origins of the EP: “CBS had an inspired idea; they invented the sampler LP. It was called The Rock Machine Turns You On and consisted of a dozen tracks, each one lifted from the current album releases of 12 of the label’s ‘second-tier’ of talent. It was an unashamed promotional device and sold by the truckload. I had a copy, as did everyone I knew.

“One night in London a few years back, I had Neil Brockbank and Bobby Irwin (my late friends and collaborators), ’round for dinner at my house. During what might be described as the ‘port and cigars’ part of the evening, we found ourselves riffing on the idea of producing a sampler for an imaginary record label of its imaginary artists.

“The next day when the enormous cost and limited commercial appeal of such a project became clearer, our enthusiasm soon waned and most of the fruits of the evening are now lost. Two examples however remain. They are Restless Feeling’ originally written for Coastline and Lay It On Me Baby for Turk Collins.

Lay It on Me follows two EPs from Lowe in as many years, 2019’s Love Starvation/Trombone and 2018’s Tokyo Bay/Crying Inside. On all three Lowe is backed by Los Straitjackets. It arrives on 5 June. The tracklist for Lay It on Me is below:

  1. Lay It On Me Baby
  2. Don’t Be Nice to Me
  3. Here Comes That Feeling (Dorsey Burnette)
  4. Venus

For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.