Prince’s estate reissues two studio albums and two live albums

The vinyl reissues will cover Prince’s 2001-2002 records.


Image: Paul Bergen / Getty

Four Prince albums from the 2000s will see a reissue this April, their first pressing since their original releases.

The wave of reissues includes two studio albums – 2001’s The Rainbow Children and 2002’s One Nite Alone… and two live albums – One Nite Alone … Live! and One Nite Alone … The Aftershow: It Ain’t Over!.

The records will be released on 17 April 2020, and come pressed in 150g marbled purple vinyl, with the exception of The Rainbow Children, which is pressed on two clear LPs.

The four albums were the first to be released on Prince’s own NPG Records, after he changed his name from an unpronounceable symbol back to Prince following his legal battle with Warner Bros.

The Prince Estate and Legacy Recordings are also teaming up to release Up All Nite with Prince: The One Nite Alone Collection, a set that combines the CD reissues of One Nite Alone … Live! and One Nite Alone … The Aftershow: It Ain’t Over! along with a DVD of the Prince Live at the Aladdin Las Vegas concert film, taken on 12 December 2002.

Take a look at the performance of Pop Life from the film below:

Find out more and preorder over at For more music news, click here.


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.