Prophets of Rage have disbanded following the Rage Against the Machine reunion

The supergroup formed in 2016.

Prophets of Rage

Image: Jeff Kravitz / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Following the announcement of Rage Against the Machine’s reunion, Prophets of Rage have announced their disbanding.

The supergroup, formed in 2016 consisted of Rage Against the Machine’s Tim Commerford, Brad Wilk and Tom Morello, alongside DJ Lord and Cypress Hill’s B-Real and Public Enemy’s Chuck D.

Chuck D, in a tweet that announced the end of the band, wrote that he and B-Real were merely keeping the spot warm for Rage Against the Machine’s vocalist Zach De La Rocha.

B-Real also commented on the end of the band in an Instagram post, thanking the fans of the band and hoping that the music has been “a source of inspiration for those that needed it”.


Rage Against the Machine’s reunion was revealed through an Instagram post. The band will be hitting the road in early 2020 with a string of US dates, including both weekends at Coachella 2020.

For more music news, click here.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.