Listen to Stone Temple Pilots’ latest emotional single, Miles Away

The song comes from the band’s upcoming acoustic record Perdida.

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Stone Temple Pilots have released the latest track from the upcoming record, Perdida. You can take a listen to the song above. The LP is the band’s first acoustic album, and as you can hear on the Miles Away the group have brought a shift in tone along with the switch to acoustic instruments – with lyrics exploring longing and heartbreak underpinned by a heart-wrenching violin melody.

Perdida will also be the band’s second album with vocalist Jeff Gutt, who joined the band in 2017 after the departure of Chester Bennington and Scott Weiland. Speaking to SPIN about the track, Gutt discussed co-writing the song with bassist Robert DeLeo: “[Miles Away] was something Robert brought in and he was excited about it. When Robert comes into the studio excited about an idea, you listen. So we were all ears.” Gutt described the process once DeLeo had shared the song’s melody and working title: “after that, the song kind of just fell into place, with all of us working it out. I really gravitated towards it because I can relate it to so many things that have happened in my life. So I tried to put a personal touch on it where I could.”

Speaking to Rolling Stone when the first track from the album, Fare Thee Well, was released last year, Gutt, who wrote most of the lyrics on Perdida, elaborated on what led to the tone of the record, saying “I was looking back at difficult moments in my life… trying to be vulnerable and that’s a scary thing to do, but it’s also kind of comfortable.”

Perdida will be released tomorrow, 7 February. The full track listing is below:

1. Fare Thee Well
2. Three Wishes
3. Perdida
4. I Didn’t Know The Time
5. Years
6. She’s My Queen
7. Miles Away
8. You Found Yourself While Losing Your Heart
9. I Once Sat At Your Table
10. Sunburst

For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.