The Black Keys share cover of Robert Lee Burnside’s Going Down South

The track is taken from their upcoming blues cover record.

Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys

Image: Tim Mosenfelder / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

The Black Keys have released a new track from their upcoming blues cover record Delta Kream, a cover of Robert Lee Burnside’s Going Down South, alongside a Music video directed by Ryan Nadzam.

Black Keys guitarist and singer Dan Auerbach said of the new cover: “That was one of R.L. Burnside’s hits!. We strayed a little from the original on our version with the falsetto and percussion, but we liked how it sounded in that moment. It’s become one of my favourites on the album.”

The video features a number of notable locations to the world of Mississippi blues, including Blue Front Cafe, in Bentonia, “the oldest juke joint in America”, Aikei Pro’s record shop, the Blues Alley in Holly Springs (the hometown of Junior Kimbrough) and more.

You can take a look at the music video below.

Delta Kream will follow Let’s Rock, the band’s ninth album, which was released in 2019. Delta Kream will arrive on 14 May and see the garage duo pay tribute to the Mississippi hill country blues acts that inspired them, including John Lee Hooker, R. L. Burnside, Junior Kimbrough, Ranie Burnette and Big Joe Williams.

The full tracklist for Delta Kream is below. You can preorder the record here.

1 Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker Cover)
2 Louise (Mississippi Fred McDowell Cover)
3 Poor Boy A Long Way From Home (R. L. Burnside Cover)
4 Stay All Night (Junior Kimbrough Cover)
5 Going Down South (R. L. Burnside Cover)
6 Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette Cover)
7 Do The Romp (Junior Kimbrough Cover)
8 Sad Days, Lonely Nights (Junior Kimbrough Cover)
9 Walk With Me (Junior Kimbrough Cover)
10 Mellow Peaches (Big Joe Williams Cover)
11 Come On And Go With Me (Junior Kimbrough Cover)

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.