The Rolling Stones’ legendary 1977 secret shows at the El Mocambo to see first-ever official release

The recordings were taken in a tiny Toronto venue.

In 1977, fans appeared at the 300-capacity El Mocambo venue in Toronto, Canada, expecting to see April Wine supported by a band called The Cockroaches. In reality, April WIne were supporting, and The Cockroaches were actually The Rolling Stones. The band’s two nights at the venue are now set to be officially released for the first time in May.

The setlists for the two nights spanned a range of the band’s catalogue, and some blues covers such as Little Red Rooster, Mannish Boy and Worried Life Blues. They touched on some hits, including Jumpin’ Jack Flash and Brown Sugar, as well as Hot Stuff, Hand Of Fate and Melody taken from their newly-released LP Black And Blue.

Ahead of the official release of the live album, the band have released two tracks: Rip This Joint and It’s Only Rock N’ Roll (But I Like It). Check them out below.

The full tracklist spans all of the Stones’ 5 March performance at the El Mocambo, as well as a few tracks from their 4 March. Some of the Mocambo performances have surfaced before, appearing on the 1977 live album Live You Live. However, the full set has never officially been released.

Live At The El Mocambo hits all of the standard formats on 13 May this year. See its full tracklist below, and preorder the record here.

Live At The El Mocambo track list:

1. Honky Tonk Women
2. All Down The Line
3. Hand Of Fate
4. Route 66
5. Fool To Cry
6. Crazy Mama
7. Mannish Boy
8. Crackin’ Up
9. Dance Little Sister
10. Around And Around
11. Tumbling Dice
12. Hot Stuff
13. Star Star
14. Let’s Spend The Night Together
15. Worried Life Blues
16. Little Red Rooster
17. It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)
18. Rip This Joint
19. Brown Sugar
20. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
21. Melody
22. Luxury
23. Worried About You

Related Artists

Related Tags


The destination for all things guitar.

© 2023 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.