Yes announce new album, Mirror to the Sky: “This is a very important album for the band”

It’s the progressive rock group’s 23rd studio album.


Credit: Scott Dudelson / Getty

Yes are set to release their 23rd studio album Mirror to the Sky this May, and have released the album’s first single.

Yes’ Mirror to the Sky is set to be released on 19 May in multiple formats including a deluxe box set that features a Blu-ray audio set with Dolby Atmos 5.1 surround sound, an announcement on the band’s website reveals. The six-track album will feature three bonus tracks, with the Blu-ray sets boasting instrumental versions and Hi-Res stereo mixes of the tracks.

The band have also released the first single from the album, Cut From The Stars. Listen to it below.

In a statement shared in the announcement, guitarist Steve Howe said of the album, “This is a very important album for the band.” He continued, “We kept the continuity in the approach we established on [the 2021 album] The Quest, but we haven’t repeated ourselves. That was the main thing. As Yes did in the seventies from one album to another, we’re growing and moving forward. In later years, Yes often got going but then didn’t do the next thing. This album is demonstrative of us growing and building again.”

Bassist Billy Sherwood shared that the album itself was completed at a fast pace following The Quest. “There was a lot of material floating around because the band hadn’t done anything in the studio for so long. Ideas were just copious,” he said. “We just continued to work on material. It came about pretty naturally, and then we refined it as the process went on. But the initial bursts – there was a lot of material around!”

The tracklist for Mirror to the Sky is:

1. Cut From The Stars 
2. All Connected 
3. Luminosity
4. Living Out Their Dream 
5. Mirror to the Sky 
6. Circles of Time 
Bonus Tracks
1. Unknown Place
2. One Second Is Enough 
3. Magic Potion 


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.