Yngwie Malmsteen gets bluesy with new album, Blue Lightning

Packed with eight covers and four brand new tracks.

Yngwie Malmsteen live

Image: Maj.l / Shutterstock.com

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Yngwie Malmsteen has returned to the blues with his latest studio album, Blues Lightning.

The 12-track record comprises eight covers of iconic rock tunes and four brand new tracks. The legendary virtuoso has put his spin on beloved classics, like Hendrix’s Purple Haze, Deep Purple’s Smoke on the Water, and The Beatles’ While My Guitar Gently Weeps.

The blues direction also features heavily in a new track, Sun’s Up Top’s Down, in which Malmsteen reins in his signature fiery chops and grooves along to an infectious drum arrangement.

Here is the full track listing for Blue Lightning:

  1. Blue Lightning
  2. Foxey Lady
  3. Demon’s Eye
  4. 1911 Strut
  5. Blue Jean Blues
  6. Purple Haze
  7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  8. Sun’s Up Top’s Down
  9. Peace, Please
  10. Paint It Black
  11. Smoke On The Water
  12. Forever Man

And check out Sun’s Up Top’s Down below:

Blue Lightning is out 29 March on Mascot Records. More information at yngwiemalmsteen.com.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.