Doobie Brothers, T. Rex, Nine Inch Nails among Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame 2020 inductees

HIp-hop legend Notorious B.I.G. and R&B diva Whitney Houston are also on the list.

marc bolan t. rex

Marc Bolan of T. Rex. Image: Michael Putland / Getty Images

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

The Doobie Brothers, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails and T. Rex are among the 2020 inductees to the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame. They join Notorious B.I.G. and Whitney Houston as this year’s full list.

The induction ceremony is slated to take place on 2 May at Cleveland’s Public Hall.

In addition to the musicians, Jon Landau and Irving Azoff will be presented with the Ahmet Ertegun Award. Landau and Azoff are legendary managers; the former counts Bruce Springsteen and Train as his collaborators while the latter has worked with the Eagles and REO Speedwagon.

Pat Benatar, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk and Thin Lizzy were among the musicians on the ballot this year, but did not receive enough ballots. Votes were cast by more than 1,000 artists, including inductees, music historians and captains of the industry.

“Each of those bands has helped shape the form that rock and roll has taken over the years,” the Doobie Brothers’ Michael McDonald told Rolling Stone. “That’s what I like to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame do: pick those bands that have sculpted what we see rock and roll as today.”

Tony Visconti, who has worked as a producer on several T. Rex records, told Billboard, “Marc Bolan and T.Rex have inspired hundreds of bands and record production over the years. Some very famous bands and producers have acknowledged this, U2 for instance. Marc Bolan is an iconic bastion of pop rock. T. Rex is still loved by millions of fans and their music will still continue to inspire future musicians.”

More info at rockhall.com.

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.