Smashing Pumpkins detail Gish 30th anniversary live stream celebration

There’s also limited-edition food and drink as well as an online scavenger hunt.

Smashing Pumpkins have revealed plans for a live-streamed listening party and Q&A, in celebration of the 30th anniversary of their 1991 debut record Gish.

The stream will be hosted by frontman Billy Corgan and guitarist Jimmy Chamberlain, and last two hours. The event will be broadcast from Corgan’s own Cafe, Madame ZuZu’s Tea Shop, on 29 May 2021. For timezone convenience, it will be available to watch for 24 hours after it takes place (5 PM PT / 7 PM CT / 8 PM ET / 1 AM BST).

As well as the online stream, those lucky enough to be in reach of ZuZus will be able to sample some limited-edition Gish food and drink, in the form of a “psychedelic cake” from vegan bakery Pie Pie My Darling, as well Hop Butcher beer collaboration called Soul Head, the nickname Corgan gave to his Gish-era amplifier.

Advertisement

For those not able to make it in person, there’s still some extra celebratory activity: the band will be hosting an online scavenger hunt ahead of the stream In a statement, they explained: “Each day there will be a clue posted across [Smashing Pumpkins] social media profiles. Collect each clue and submit your answers for a chance to win the ultimate Gish Anniversary Merch Collection. Winner will be announced on 28 May.”

Gish was released on 28 May 1991, after an intense set of recording sessions. The album would start the Smashing Pumpkins’ rise into alt-rock fame. It’s since become widely regarded as a defining work of the grunge era.

Tickets for the live stream listening party and Q&A list for $19.91 (aptly enough) and are available from store.smashingpumpkins.com. Some proceeds will also go towards PAWs Chicago, a no-kill animal shelter in the area.

Advertisement

Trending

Advertisement