Boston Calling, headlined by Rage Against The Machine and Foo Fighters, has been cancelled

Foo Fighters, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Rage Against The Machine were to headline.

Dave Grohl performs with Foo Fighters

Photo: Erika Goldring / Stringer

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

This year’s Boston Calling festival has been cancelled in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. The third edition of the festival had been scheduled to run from 22-24 May at the Harvard Athletic Complex in the city.

The festival was set to be headlined by Foo Fighters, Rage Against The Machine, and The Red Hot Chili Peppers, the latter of which recently reunited with John Frusciante.

The decision came after “weeks of consultation with local and state authorities”, the organisers said in a statement published on Twitter. “We are heartbroken; however, the health and safety of our audience, artists, partners, vendors, first responders, and staff are of the utmost importance to us, and we felt that this was the only acceptable way forward,” they continued.

The organisers added that they will be reaching out to ticketholders with details on refunds or carrying tickets forward to next year’s event.

Read the full statement here:

In a show of solidarity with the local music/arts community, Boston Calling has made a $10,000 donation towards the Boston Artist Relief Fund and the Cambridge Artist Relief Fund.

“We are honoured to be part of such a vibrant music and performing arts community, and we want to make sure that talented local artists are able to continue doing what they love,” the festival tweeted.

Just like Boston Calling, music festivals around the globe have been cancelled or postponed because of COVID-19. Recently, the annual Primavera Sound festival in Barcelona was also canned.

See all the COVID-19-related event cancellations/postponements here.

For more music news, click here.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.