The Black Keys announce Delta Kream, a new blues covers album

It’s their first release since 2019.

The Black Keys

Image: Rich Fury / Getty

The Black Keys have announced a new blues covers album entitled Delta Kream, set to arrive next month.

The album will follow Let’s Rock, the band’s ninth album, which was released in 2019. Delta Kream will arrive on 14 May and see the garage duo pay tribute to the Mississippi hill country blues acts that inspired them, including John Lee Hooker, R. L. Burnside, Junior Kimbrough, Ranie Burnette and Big Joe Williams.

The band’s interpretation of John Lee Hooker’s Crawling Kingsnake (1949) is now available to stream by signing up to The Black Keys’ online fan club.

The announcement comes after The Black Keys marked the 10th anniversary of their sixth album Brothers with a special deluxe edition in January. Originally released in 2010, the LP features songs such as Next Girl, Howlin’ For You, Everlasting Light and Tighten Up.

You can pre-order Delta Kream this Thursday (April 15). See its full tracklisting below.

1 Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker Cover)
2 Louise (Mississippi Fred McDowell Cover)
3 Poor Boy A Long Way From Home (R. L. Burnside Cover)
4 Stay All Night (Junior Kimbrough Cover)
5 Going Down South (R. L. Burnside Cover)
6 Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette Cover)
7 Do The Romp (Junior Kimbrough Cover)
8 Sad Days, Lonely Nights (Junior Kimbrough Cover)
9 Walk With Me (Junior Kimbrough Cover)
10 Mellow Peaches (Big Joe Williams Cover)
11 Come On And Go With Me (Junior Kimbrough Cover)


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.