Josh Homme announces new Desert Sessions music after 16 years

Members of ZZ Top, Warpaint, Royal Blood and more appear on two volumes.

Josh Homme Desert Sessions new music album volumes 11 12

Image: Andreas Neumann

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Josh Homme has announced the return of his Desert Sessions project after 16 long years. Musicians from ZZ Top, Warpaint, Primus, Royal Blood and more join the Queens Of The Stone Age frontman for eight new songs packaged in two volumes.

Desert Sessions Vol. 11 & 12 – titled Arrivederci Despair and Tightwads & Nitwits & Critics & Heels, respectively – will arrive 25 October on Matador Records. The list of guest artists includes Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top), Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint), Les Claypool (Primus), Mike Kerr (Royal Blood) and Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters). Matt Sweeney, Carla Azar (Autolux and Jack White) and actor Matt Berry (star of The IT Crowd) also appear.

The Desert Sessions are the loose musical collective Homme founded in 1997 by inviting several musicians to sessions at Rancho De La Luna in Joshua Tree. “What began as a casual writing and recording session amongst friends – isolated from daily distractions and comforts – has since become a possibly infinite body of work,” an official description of the project reads.

These Joshua Tree retreats have spawned 10 volumes of music so far, featuring the likes of PJ Harvey, Mark Lanegan, Josh Freese, Dean Ween and more. The last Desert Sessions album, Volume 10: I Heart Disco, was released in 2003.

Watch the official video announcement of the record, which features Homme in a deadpan comedy skit and short snippets of the new Desert Sessions music:

Pre-order Desert Sessions Vol. 11 & 12 here. For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.