St. Vincent, Dave Grohl and Bruce Springsteen to play this year’s Rock Hall 2020 ceremony

This year, the Rock Hall will honour Nine Inch Nails, T-Rex and The Doobie Brothers.

Dave Grohl onstage

Photo: Erika Goldring / Getty Images

St. Vincent, Dave Grohl and Bruce Springsteen are slated to perform at this year’s Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame induction ceremony – which has been replaced with a televised broadcast due to COVID-19.

The program is slated to air on HBO and HBO Max on Saturday, 7 November 2020 at 8pm EST.

This year, the Rock Hall will be celebrating the careers of Nine Inch Nails, The Doobie Brothers, T-Rex, Depeche Mode, Whitney Houston and The Notorious B.I.G.

According to the Rock Hall’s official release, Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl will kick off the show with an introduction to this year’s inductees.

Like previous editions, the ceremony will also play host to an array of live performances and artist appearances.

This year’s participating guests include Iggy Pop, Gwen Stefani, Chris Martin, P. Diddy, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Also in attendance will be Ringo Starr, Adam Levine and Luke Bryan.

Back in January, Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor spoke to Rolling Stone after learning that the band would be among this year’s inductees, admitting that he initially thought the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame concept felt “absurd”.

“In some ways, it surely is; to try and quantify something as broad as that and inevitably add a competitive element to it. The gamification of it is hard to rationalise,” he said. “Being there in that room last year to induct The Cure felt really cool. Sitting with the guys in Radiohead and watching Bryan Ferry play. It is just nice to see a bunch of people celebrating music as the primary thing.

“It felt legit. It really felt good. Like I said, it hasn’t really sunk in yet, but I’m quite honoured that we’re being recognised.”

Learn more at

For more music news, click here


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.