Watch Ben Gibbard, Biffy Clyro, The Hold Steady and more honour Frightened Rabbit’s Scott Hutchison

Hear from indie-rock greats as they remember the late frontman in a new documentary.

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Stars from the indie-rock cosmos have appeared in a new documentary, Tiny Changes, that honours the life and times of Frightened Rabbit’s Scott Hutchinson.

In the 24-minute video, Death Cab For Cutie’s Ben Gibbard, Biffy Clyro, The Hold Steady‘s Craig Finn, Julien Baker and even Sarah Silverman speak about their fondness for Hutchinson and his music, with archival footage of the Scottish band interspersed throughout. James and Justin Lockey, who have worked with Frightened Rabbit on several music videos, directed the documentary.

Midnight Organ Flight was, for me, one of those albums that completely arrested me,” Gibbard says. “That just stopped me in my tracks. Putting that record on, I was so inspired by it. The record just grabbed you by the shirt and pulled you off the ground. It felt like flying.”

Biffy Clyro’s Simon Neill – himself a fellow Scotsman – recalled his first blush with Frightened Rabbit. “I heard a couple of good things about [The Midnight Organ Flight]. I remember getting on the plane thinking … ‘I’m just gonna have a quick listen to this.’ Halfway through Modern Leper, I turned around and [thought] this is gonna be our new favourite fucking band.”

The documentary is a companion to its namesake LP, a recently released compilation of covers of The Midnight Organ Flight. Besides the artists featured in the documentary, The National’s Aaron Dessner, Daughter and Lauren Mayberry of Chvrches contributed to the album, which you can listen to below.

Hutchinson formed Frightened Rabbit in 2003, initially as a solo project before it blossomed into a full band. They released five studio albums before Hutchinson took his own life in May 2018.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.