Framus announces affordable D-series version of the Devin Townsend Stormbender

The Stormbender now comes as a D-Series Artist Line model.

framus d-series devin townsend artist line stormbender

Framus has released the new D-series version of the Devin Townsend Stormbender signature guitar, in addition to the Teambuilt and Masterbuilt editions. The announcement was first made back at NAMM 2020.

The prog-rocker has worked with the German brand on two earlier Stormbender models, the Custom Shop Masterbuilt and Teambuilt German Pro Series models. In comparison to these more premium models, the D-Series six-string is made in China, similar to the Warwick RockBass instruments.

The D-Series Stormbender sports a mahogany body with AAAA flamed maple veneer top, set maple neck, tigerstripe ebony fretboard, dot inlays and a 25.5-inch scale length. Electronics include the Fishman Fluence Devin Townshend Signature pickups and push-pull volume/tone knobs, while Warwick S-Security locks and tune-o-matic bridge feature in the hardware department.

framus d-series devin townsend artist line stormbender

In our recent interview with Townsend, the Canadian maestro spoke about the importance of pushing and defying boundaries – and why dropping his comedic routine was a big part of it.

“For the first time, I’ve chosen to put all these styles in one place and done it without a comedic angle,” he told “It’s like a completely honest representation of where I’m at, at this point. I didn’t put a lot of strategy into making sure people perceived it in a very strategic way. That’s nerve-wracking for me, because I’ve got kids and family; it costs me so much money to make this record that I’m nervous because on a practical level, I’m like: ‘Oh my god, did I make a mistake here?’”

The D-series is available to preorder now for €1,449 with shipping beginning in July. More information at


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.