Godspeed You! Black Emperor announce new album, G_d’s Pee at State’s End!

It’s set to release on 2 April.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Image: Ilya S. Savenok / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Legendary post-rock band Godspeed You! Black Emperor have announced their first album since 2017’s Luciferian Towers, entitled G_d’s Pee at State’s End!.

The album is set to arrive on 2 April 2021 on Constellation Records, and consists of four tracks in total, for a runtime of just under an hour.

The band noted in a statement that the record was written at the beginning of last year, and recorded in October 2020: “We wrote it on the road mostly. When that was still a place. And then recorded it in masks later, distanced at the beginning of the second wave. It was autumn, and the falling sun was impossibly fat and orange. We tried to summon a brighter reckoning there, bent beneath varied states of discomfort, worry, and wonderment.

The band said in the same statement of G_d’s Pee at State’s End!’s themes: “This record is about all of us waiting for the end. All current forms of governance are failed. This record is about all of us waiting for the beginning, and is informed by the following demands: empty the prisons, take power from the police and give it to the neighbourhoods that they terrorize. End the forever wars and all other forms of imperialism. Tax the rich until they’re impoverished.”

The album can be preordered here, and you can view its tracklisting below.

  1. A Military Alphabet (Five Eyes All Blind) (4521.0kHz 6730.0kHz 4109.09kHz) / Job’s Lament / First of the Last Glaciers / Where We Break How We Shine (Rockets for Mary)
  2. Fire at Static Valley
  3. “Government Came” (9980.0kHz 3617.1kHz 4521.0 kHz) / Cliffs Gaze / Cliffs’ Gaze at Empty Eaters’ Rise / Ashes to Sea or Nearer to Thee
  4. Our Side Has to Win (for D.H.)

For more music news, click here.

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.