Iced Earth guitarist Jon Schaffer arrested for participation in US Capitol riots

Schaffer was photographed inside the building as part of a group of rioters.

Jon Schaffer

Image: Juan Aguado / Getty

Jon Schaffer, guitarist for heavy metal band Iced Earth, has been arrested for his participation in the US Capitol riots earlier this month.

Schaffer was part of a violent mob who forced their way through law enforcement to enter the Capitol Building with the purpose of disrupting lawmakers, who were in the process of certifying Joe Biden’s election victory. Four rioters and a US Capitol Police officer died in the chaos.

Schaffer was photographed inside the Capitol Building, wearing a hat declaring “Oath Keepers: Lifetime Member.” The Oath Keepers are a far-right organisation that has been designated as an extremist group by the Anti-Defamation League, among others.

Following this, Schaffer appeared on the FBI’s most-wanted list, and the Metropolitan Police in D.C. included him in a list of people sought after for “unrest-related offences”.

According to the Wall Street Journal, Schaffer was arrested for engaging in violence in a restricted building, disorderly conduct, among other charges.

Indystar reports that Schaffer turned himself in to the authorities.

Following the news Schaffer was wanted by the authorities, the other members of Iced Earth released a statement via bassist Luke Appleton’s Instagram account denouncing the actions of the rioters.

“Some of you have been concerned by our silence, which we understand. We needed some time to properly process the information and find out some facts before we made a statement,” the band wrote.

“We absolutely DO NOT condone nor do we support riots or the acts of violence that the rioters were involved in on January 6th at the US Capitol building. We hope that all those involved that day are brought to justice to be investigated and answer for their actions.”

For more music news, click here.


Get the latest news, reviews and features to your inbox.


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 is part of NME Networks.