Robert Plant announces career-spanning Digging Deep anthology

Collecting 30 tracks across Plant’s solo albums, plus three unreleased songs

Robert Plant

Photo: Per Ole Hagen / Redferns

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

Robert Plant has announced Digging Deep, an anthology release collecting 30 tracks from across his 11 solo albums, and including three previously unreleased songs. The record is due out 2 October through Plant’s own Es Paranza label.

Digging Deep highlights the most celebrated tracks from Plant’s solo career, from the number one rock hit Hurting Kind to the Grammy-nominated Shine It All Around. Throughout the record, Plant is joined by a lineup of revered musicians that include Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimmy Page, Buddy Miller, Phil Collins and more.

Three previously unreleased tracks also make their debut on Digging Deep. These include renditions of Toussaint McCall’s Nothing Takes The Place Of You, Charley Feathers’ Too Much Alike, performed in a duet with Patty Griffin, and Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1) from the upcoming Band Of Joy Volume 2.

Robert Plant digging deep
Image: Robert Plant

Digging Deep’s tracklist below, with previously unreleased tracks marked by asterisks:

CD 1
1. Rainbow
2. Hurting Kind
3. Shine It All Around
4. Ship of Fools
5. Nothing Takes the Place of You*
6. Darkness, Darkness
7. Heaven Knows
8. In the Mood
9. Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1)*
10. New World
11. Like I’ve Never Been Gone
12. I Believe
13. Dance with You Tonight
14. Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down
15. Great Spirit (Acoustic)

1. Angel Dance
2. Takamba
3. Anniversary
4. Wreckless Love
5. White Clean & Neat
6. Silver Rider
7. Fat Lip
8. 29 Palms
9. Last Time I Saw Her
10. Embrace Another Fall
11. Too Much Alike (feat. Patty Griffin)*
12. Big Log
13. Falling in Love Again
14. Memory Song (Hello Hello)
15. Promised Land

Along with the new record, Plant also announced that his Podcast, Digging Deep with Robert Plant, will begin its third season today (27 July). Five new episodes of the programme will be released fortnightly over popular streaming services Apple Music, Spotify, and YouTube.

Learn more about Digging Deep at robertplant.com 

For more music news, click here

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.