Listen: Thurston Moore drops seven-minute single from forthcoming new album

The track, titled Hypnogram, is the first offering from his newly confirmed album which is yet to be given a release date and title.

Sonic Youth’s Thurston Moore has released a new single, Hypnogram.

The track is the first offering from the guitarist’s newly announced forthcoming solo album – its title and release date are yet to be announced. The album, which was arranged back in 2022, is set to include plenty of guitar, as well as piano, and organ performances from his frequent collaborator James Sedwards. It also features bassist Deb Googe (My Bloody Valentine), percussionist Jem Doulton (Róisín Murphy), and electronic musician Jon Leidecker (Negativland).

Listen to the track below:

Moore’s solo albums step away from how things used to work when it came to making records with Sonic Youth. He’s been collaborating with Sedwards, Googe and co. on his projects for sometime now – In an interview with us as Guitar.com back in 2020, Moore said: “We’ve grown into hearing each other. I think he [Sedwards] feels a little bit more comfortable with moving away from just trying to acknowledge what I’m doing, and that comes with time, spending years together on the road.”

He continued, speaking of his album By The Fire: “You can hear that camaraderie in these pieces. It’s quite different to the relationship I had with Lee [Ranaldo] as a guitar player. That can’t be replicated, not that I’d want to. It was too personal. Lee and I spent 30 years growing up together.”

Keep up to date with Moore’s latest releases at thurstonmoore.com.


The destination for all things guitar.

© 2023 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.